The Gift

THE GIFT

Women’s Fiction with hot sex

On Edna Mae’s 40th birthday she buried her controlling father and lost her virginity in a one-night stand with a stranger she never expected to see again. Her life is about to change in more ways than she could have imagined.

Like Cinderella, she had no real life. The world opens for her now that she has no sick parents demanding all of her attention. Finding new friends and a world she thought had passed her by is wonderful, but there’s more!

THE GIFT is story about an old-fashioned woman in a modern world, written in an old-fashioned way. Love, Lust, and Southern Comfort.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00631OX6W

Barnes & Noble http://bit.ly/tFy77u

Smashwords http://bit.ly/tIxD4m

www.MaryMarvella.com

www.pinkfuzzyslipperwriters.blogspot.com

Excerpt:

Almost two months after I buried my father, Suzy and I sat in my bathroom. I needed the warmth of Suzy’s hand while we waited for the stick to change colors. The bathroom seemed crowded for two people staring at a stick on the sink.

I sat on the edge of the tub. “But I can’t be pregnant,” I moaned.

Suzanne sat beside me. “If you’ve missed two periods you could, unless you haven’t had sex.”

My face warmed in a huge blush. My tummy flipped. Could one time really do it? Actually, it had been more than once with my stranger, but hadn’t he used a condom each time? In every memory of that night I’d skipped the part about condoms, but I thought he’d used them.

“Oh, my God. You could be pregnant?” Sue’s eyes grew to saucer size. “Who? The lawyer, Raylene’s boss? He’s cute.”

I shook my head. “No, not Sam.”

“Are you gonna make me drag his name out of you?”

“He’s not from around here.” I told my dearest friend about my one-night-stand with a stranger on the day I buried my father. My stomach still knotted at the thought of doing so many important things by myself, but most of my decisions had been good the last few months.

When I described the man’s longish, light brown hair and piercing silver eyes, his broad chest and narrow waist, I shivered at the memory.

Suzy murmured the right thing – ”He sounds wonderful, gorgeous and gentle.”

My breath quickened with the words “we made love.”

Sue interrupted with “Again?” and “Omigod.”

I told my friend about slipping out while the man still slept to avoid embarrassment.

“That is so-o-o romantic, like in a movie.” Suzy jumped up. “We forgot to check the stick!”

I stood on shaky legs. We held hands tightly, like girls waiting to see who would win the beauty pageant, or make cheerleader. For seconds I wanted to say I’d just wait and see, maybe wait until I missed another period, if I did. Maybe I’d see how long the icky mornings lasted. It could be flu or some kind of bug.

“You look, please, I just can’t.” My voice sounded odd in my own ears, childlike and scared shitless.

Suzy turned my hand loose and inched to the sink, craning her neck to see.

Could this be THE GIFT or is there more?

Mary is also the author of two paranormal romances, Haunting Refrain & Forever Love.

This entry was posted in Sweet and Spicy, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Gift

  1. monarisk says:

    Mary, I already bought and downloaded The Gift. I can’t wait to make time and enjoy this wonderful story.

  2. Great excerpt! Sounds like a lovely read. I enjoy books about older heroines.

  3. morganmandel says:

    Is she or isn’t she? We won’t know unless we read to find out!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

  4. You got me at women’s fiction with hot sex!. Look forward to reading it.

  5. I enjoy stories about “older” women discovering themselves. Sometimes reading about 20 & 30 somethings just doesn’t resonate with this “older” gal. This one sound great.

  6. Jill James says:

    You had me at women’s fiction with hot sex. OMG! Going to get this book right now.

  7. marymarvella says:

    Thanks, Mona. Love ya for it!

  8. marymarvella says:

    Thanks, Helen. It has a lot of Southern atmosphere and Edna Mae’s growth as a woman.(No pun intended)

  9. marymarvella says:

    You got it, Morgan! Want to venture a guess? I won’t tell.

  10. marymarvella says:

    Bev, I believe you will enjoy the sex scenes, tasteful but HOT according to my critique partners and my beta reader.

  11. marymarvella says:

    Thanks, Elysa, Edna Mae discovers what a G spot is and that she has one. (A much bigger deal for her than some young chick who takes things for granted.)

  12. marymarvella says:

    I must thank the person who put my cover on the blog! My website/blog is with WordPress, but this one is different from mine.

  13. monarisk says:

    You’re welcome. :)

  14. Scarlet says:

    I’ve read this book, bought it as soon as it was uploaded and it is a great story with lots of hot sex. But I won’t tell Edna Mae’s secrets. Not I!

  15. Good, Scarlet. We must keep the seduction going.

Leave a Reply

