The Gift, Happy December 14.

http://ebooks99cents.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/mary-marvella1.jpg?w=640Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00631OX6W

As a writer I get to share the stories my characters tell me. This story is one of hope and wonder and lots of firsts.

THE GIFT    Women’s Fiction with hot sex

On Edna Mae’s 40th birthday she buried her controlling father and lost her virginity in a one-night stand with a stranger she never expected to see again. Her life is about to change in more ways than she could have imagined.

Like Cinderella, she had no real life. The world opens for her now that she has no sick parents demanding all of her attention. Finding new friends and a world she thought had passed her by is wonderful, but there’s more!

THE GIFT is story about an old-fashioned oman in a modern world, written in an old-fashioned way. Love, Lust, and Southern Comfort.

Amazon http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00631OX6W

Barnes & Noble http://bit.ly/tFy77u

Smashwords http://bit.ly/tIxD4m

www.MaryMarvella.com

www.pinkfuzzyslipperwriters.blogspot.com

Excerpt:

Edna Mae is having supper with her friend Raylene. Since she spent all of her time caring for her parents and catering to her father’s demands for an austere lifestyle and preparing bland meals, she didn’t eat out. Edna Mae is like a kid as she experiences some of life’s freedom and variety. 

I shrugged, then pasted on a smile at the waitress who brought salads. “Let’s eat.” I hoped I hadn’t said too much. I didn’t need Raylene feeling sorry for me. I didn’t need anyone feeling sorry for me.

Conversation paused while the waitress brought huge platters of ribs. The sweet, smoky aroma made my stomach growl and my mouth water. Raylene wasted no time digging into the ribs and licking the sauce from her fingers.

I separated a section of spicy meat and ate until I gnawed the bones clean. I shivered with excitement, licking the tangy sauce from my fingers, one at a time. Heaven must be like this, flavorful food and a chance to eat myself too full. I looked up at my companion, who grinned. “What?”

Raylene dipped her napkin into her water glass, leaned across the table and wiped my cheek, startling me. “Sauce,” she said. “You look like a kid! But you sound like you’re havin’ an orgasm, girlfriend.”

“What?”

Raylene moaned, “OOOOh this is soooo good.” She made a goofy expression. “More, more, more.”

“Stop, please, you’re killin’ me. I haven’t had this much fun since high school.” I laughed so hard my stomach ached. Playing, finally playing, and over a meal. Could it get better than this? Raylene still stared at me. “Keep eating or I’ll finish and start on yours.” I warned her.

“Not even!” Raylene glared. “Touch my food and draw back a nub, little girl. We’re skipping dessert so we can have sissy drinks at the club later.”

“Sounds like a plan.” I smiled at her, feeling the smile all the way to my toes. I determined to ignore the man staring at me from across the room. He looked familiar but I couldn’t place him. I put my attention back on my food.

“Edna Mae?” The man, Judge Reynolds, now stood beside me.  “I thought I recognized you. You look mighty fine tonight.” His suit fit him well. He wasn’t a bad looking man and he was looking at me. What were the odds since Raylene looked sassy and feminine, as usual.

“Evening, Ms. Raylene.” He didn’t even look away from me.

Amusement came through Raylene’s respectful manner. “Your Honor, it’s good to see you again. Have you been enjoying your supper this evenin’?”

“Indeed, I have. How is everything going, Ms. Edna Mae? Sam treating you right?” He grinned like a mischievous boy up to no good. Was he flirting with me? No way.

“Good seeing you, sir.” Were my tonsils paralyzed? My brain too? I had no idea what else to say to the man and Raylene wasn’t helping with conversation.

His Honor finally let us off the hook. “I’ll leave you ladies to your dinner.” He sauntered off.

Raylene watched him all the way to his table. “Cute ass,” she said and fanned herself, making more silly faces I could see but he surely couldn’t.

“Yeah, for a judge.” I thought about that ass while Raylene and I finished off the ribs.

“But the man’s a player, thought you should know that.”

“The judge? Like he’s going to give me a passing thought?” Though I was flattered, he didn’t make want to get personal with him.

“Sugar, he’s giving you more than a passing thought. Especially after watching you lick your fingers.”

Heat rose in my face and my pulse raced. Maybe my one night of sex was making me need it again. Yeah.

Mary is the author of two paranormal romances, Haunting Refrain & Forever Love.

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

This entry was posted in Western romance. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gift, Happy December 14.

  1. Oh, yeah, indeed! Now I want to read more. Enjoyed the excerpt, Mary:)

  2. Thanks, Bev.
    I didn’t choose a pivotal scene, but a telling scene instead. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. monarisk says:

    Sexy hook, Mary. Nice

  4. Thanks, Mona! I enjoyed writing the sexy parts.

Leave a Reply

