Follow your dream

by Maggie Toussaint

Emma Heartly is done with being the smart girl, the big sister, and the provider for the family. She’s ready for Emma-time in the worst way. Now that her baby sisters are launched, its high time she put herself first. What she wants more than anything is to work for herself, to run a Bed and Breakfast, and she has her eye on the crumbling Victorian that she and her sisters jointly own.

Maggie’s sweet romance, now only $0.99

Emma’s more than willing to do the work and make the repairs, but when she goes to take out a loan, disaster looms. Because she doesn’t own the house, she can’t get a loan. To her sister’s chagrin, she moves in and starts the rehab. But the house has a lot of problems. Contractor Quentin Stone walks in and likes what he sees – the old house and the feisty redhead. He agrees to help her, but someone very much doesn’t want this venture to be successful. Will Quentin and Emma see red or will they find their own happily ever after?

Excerpt:
Methodically, Quentin ran the beam of the light over the joists near the gaping hole. Each beam had blunt ends. None were ragged as expected in an accidental break.

One joint might have snapped clean in two. Not all of them. Something was very wrong here.

Was Emma handy enough with tools to have ruined her own floor? He shook that thought away immediately. He’d worked beside the woman for days now. This place was her passion. She wouldn’t sabotage something she wanted so much, something she worked so hard to repair.

These cuts were deliberate.

Someone wanted the floor to fail.

Someone who didn’t care who got hurt.

His pulse thundered in his ears. Who would want such a thing?

Her sisters had been against the renovation at first. Then Emma’s youngest sister had changed her mind. Maddy would soon change hers. The look on Maddy’s face as he’d told her of Emma’s fall revealed a lot about Maddy’s state of mind. No, Emma’s sisters weren’t behind this.

Who could it be?

More to the point, how could he keep Emma safe?

Buy it now! http://amzn.com/B004T3G6G6, http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/41338 and more

I’m around the net on FB, twitter, goodreads, and more. Check out my website www.maggietoussaint.com/ and my blog http://mudpiesandmagnolias.blogspot.com/

Maggie Toussaint

ps Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

About maggietoussaint

I'm a southern author who writes mystery and romance. I have 5 published romances, two of which won prestigious awards. I have six mysteries out, with another contracted for 2015. I'm a member of Romance Writers of America, Mystery Writers of America, and Sisters In Crime. My website is www.maggietoussaint.com and my blog is www.mudpiesandmagnolias.blogspot.com/
This entry was posted in Sweet and Spicy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Follow your dream

  1. Great excerpt. Sounds like a lovely story to read during a holiday weekend.

    Helen

  2. morganmandel says:

    I know how this is. There’s always something needing doing when you own a home!

    Morgan Mandel
    http://morganmandel.blogspot.com

  3. marymarvella says:

    Maggie, this looks wonderful, but I expected nothing less!

  4. monarisk says:

    Great hook. It promises more suspense. I admire a woman who can pick up a saw and a hammer, and do repairs on her house.

  5. I’d love to be as courageous and handy as Emma. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve banged my thumb with a hammer or tried and tried to pry a nail out – with no success, mind you – and along my guy would come and do it all without even breaking a sweat. At least I have one advantage over Emma. I can cook, and I hope that I haven’t just jinxed my Thanskgiving pies.

  6. Jill James says:

    Ohhh, who could be so mean? Can’t wait to find out. Looks like a great story.

  7. I’m hoping the only folks “seeing red” over the holidays are the folks reading my book, LOL. Seriously, drive safely and don’t fret if that crazy driver next to you is risking life and limb to get two car lengths ahead of the pack. It’s better to be alive than dead right.

  8. Maggie, this story sounds tempting…I hear it calling my name and saying “Buy me, buy me!”

Leave a Reply

