White lies and Second chances with humor

NO MORE LIES, Sweet and Spicy, with a sprinkle of humor, 99 cents, http://tinyurl.com/3lenmfd

Please twitt and re-twitt!

To write NO MORE LIES, I asked my sister, a psychiatrist, for help. She refused to talk about her cases but handed me two big volumes of psychiatric cases. “Here, read these, and if you have any questions, let me know.” Apparently, she was serious and expected me to read the medical jargon.

Honestly, I enjoyed the reading and couldn’t believe there were so many nut cases in the world. I chose the lighter ones, those that could be funny in a romance.

NO MORE LIES is based on a real case. The story’s theme revolves around a famous saying by Walter Scott: “Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive.”

Successful physician and loving mother, Dr. Olivia Crane has no problem listening to the most complicated cases of abuse, but deep down, Olivia fiercely believes youthful mistakes should be kept secret and skeletons are better left in closets. A little white lie can bring a smile while the truth may deeply hurt those she loves.

 When the visiting physician from France strolls into her office, with open arms and a confident smile, her perfect control is about to crumble. He’s Dr. Luc George, the man she loved ten years ago. Should she return his scorching kisses, or should she lock her door before he digs into her many secrets?

Secret daughter, secret friend, secret enemy. Had Luc really known his sweet Olivia back then? He wants her back, but he wants the truth too.

 Excerpt:

Olivia loved her mother to death, but at the moment she wanted to scream her frustration at her beaming Mama. It was obvious Marianna Crane had fallen in love with Luc the moment she’d seen him, or more precisely at the very minute he bent over and kissed the back of her hand with an “Enchanté, madame.”

 “I’m delighted to meet you, Luc. Please have a seat. Where have I put my glasses? Melissa, bring the tray of hors d’oeuvres from the kitchen. Olivia, can you serve the drinks? Luc, what can I get you?”

 Mama bustled with energy, the way she always did before starting a new project. Seeing her fussing around Luc, Olivia was afraid to guess the name of the new project—her mother’s ongoing goal.

 But Olivia was too tired to protest or interfere. Two hours ago, when she’d voiced her panic at the possibility of losing Melissa’s love, Luc had cut short their session. He’d told her she needed to relax now that she’d exteriorized her real fear. They’d continue next week.

 “May I help with the drinks?” Luc offered.

 “Of course. Make yourself at home,” Mama purred.

 Dropping onto one of the overstuffed chairs of the old-fashioned living room, Olivia rested a moment. She liked coming home to her mother’s. The warm aroma of potpourri soothed her rattled nerves. Tonight, the garlic and nutmeg smell of Mama’s masterpiece roast emanated from the kitchen. Her mother had sharpened her tools to conquer their guest.

 Olivia recognized the symptoms. Good dinner, good drinks, good stories. Luc wasn’t going to leave unscathed tonight, not when her mother wanted Luc’s heart for her daughter.

 Mama turned toward her. Eyes narrowed, she signaled to Olivia to follow her into the office. “I need you for a second,” Marianna ordered with a you-failed-big-time look.

 Olivia braced herself for the worst.

 As soon as they stepped into the office, Mama closed the glass double doors behind her, spun around to face Olivia and pointed to the door. “This Luc, is he the French boy you dated when you were in med school?”

 Mama’s scowl promised her lecture was going to be worse than Olivia had expected.

 “And you sent him packing? And you let us believe he was no good? Olivia, are you crazy or what?” Marianna snatched a chocolate from a crystal bowl and popped it into her mouth.

 “Mom!” Olivia scowled and took a step toward the door.

 “Oh no. I have to tell you what I think. Madonna mia, you are a great doctor, but as a smart woman…phht.” Her mother cut the air with her hand. “Any uneducated Italian girl would know that when she meets such a handsome, nice, good-mannered…” Her mother paused for a second to catch her breath and launched again. “Intelligent, famous, wealthy…” She stopped, at a loss for adjectives, and glanced toward the living room for more inspiration.

 “Mom, I get your point.”

 “I’m not finished. He came back. Now you have a second chance. Don’t lose it, girl. For once, listen to your mother and keep him. You understand, Olivia?” Mama threw another chocolate into her mouth and chewed on it, and then clucked her tongue. “Bambina.” Her mother stood on tiptoe to pat her cheek. “Grab him without hesitation.” She tugged at Olivia’s hand and walked toward the door. “I’ll be watching you tonight. I’ll keep Melissa out of the way, and I want to see some action.”

 You can find more books from Mona Risk at:

www.monarisk.com

www.monarisk.blogspot.com

Twitter: MonaRiskS

Facebook: Mona Risk, Author

This entry was posted in Sweet and Spicy, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to White lies and Second chances with humor

  1. monarisk says:

    WOW, it’s awfully lonely here!

  2. Everyone’s probably out Christmas shopping. Glad I can do my book buying right here. Look forward to reading No More Lies. Interesting that it’s based on a true story!

  3. I loved this book! It’s a wonderful story about a second chance at love with two great leading characters.

  4. Jill James says:

    Wow! I know what I’ll be reading between family, friends, presents, and holiday ham.

    I can’t seem to sit down and concentrate on anything this morning. Our Army son is coming home today for Christmas.

  5. monarisk says:

    Hi Bev, I’m glad I have company now. I’ve done all my shopping on line this year.

  6. monarisk says:

    Hi Helen, you know I always appreciate your input. Glad you enjoyed the story.

  7. monarisk says:

    Jill, welcome back to your son and a big thank you to him and those young men and women who gave so much of themselves for our country.

  8. Mona, I loved this book. Your characters are interesting people, and I adore a French accent. He can doctor my mind anytime!

  9. Hi Mona,

    I have No More Lies loaded up on my Kindle and I’m looking forward to reading it! I loved this excerpt and your characters…sounds like Mama knows what’s best for her daughter 🙂

  10. monarisk says:

    Hi Mary, glad you enjoyed it.

  11. monarisk says:

    Hi Sophia, the Mama breaks the tension when needed. Actually Mama is a mix of my mother and mother-in-law.

Leave a Reply

